What We’re Reading

Got a bookworm in the house? I sure do. Here are just a handful of the books she’s read recently:

Kids book reading recommendations by Charlotte's Fancy

Sideways Schools books

The Wayside School series by Louis Sachar (who also wrote the Newberry award-winning book Holes)

Borrowers and Moomins

The Borrowers and The Moomins (more books in each of these series)

Magic by the Lake and the Four Story Mistake

Magic by the Lake and The Four Story Mistake (more books in each of these series)

Jeremy Fink and 11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass

Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life and 11 Birthdays. (Also recommended: The Candymakers by Wendy Mass)

Mount Majestic and Westin Game

The Rise and Fall of Mount Majestic and The Westing Game

You may be familiar with many of these books – most of them were written 30 or more years ago (classics!). Only the two Wendy Mass books and The Rise and Fall of Mount Majestic are recent. All of these books are appropriate for (approximately) 7 to 12 year olds.

If you want more reading recommendations, see this list I compiled a couple of summers ago (note the additions in the comments too).

Images: Charlotte’s Fancy

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    huana said,

    I’m a book worm so I don’t wonder my daughter is too! She has a pile just about like this one 🙂

  2. 2

    This is a LOVELY list! Wonderful titles here! Pinned the whole lot 🙂

  3. 4

    I’m so happy that some children are still reading 🙂

  4. 5

    Some of those look good, I wouldn’t be against reading them at age 27! I still go back and read The Westing Game sometimes. Has she read Ellen Raskin’s other books? I love them all but my favorite was The Tattooed Potato.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Like this post? Tell me about it!