iDad

I had a brainstorm a couple of weeks ago about a fun Father’s Day Card based on the iPad—a little craft I call the iDad. I am guessing that I am not the only one to have come up with this idea, but it’s a fun, easy craft for the gadget-loving men in your life.

Supplies:

  • Black cardstock
  • White Cardstock
  • X-acto knife
  • Cutting mat
  • Spray Glue
  • Markers

Step 1: Take two pieces of 8.5 x 11″ black cardstock, and sandwich a piece of white cardstock in between, then cut rounded corners. You may want to take out the white piece and cut it down a little further, so that it doesn’t show along the edges. Use spray glue to secure the white cardstock to the bottom piece of black cardstock and set aside.

Step 2: Find some iPad/iPhone icon images online and print them out on cardstock (you will have no trouble finding these on Google). In a Google image search, look for medium or large images, so that the resolution is decent. Once you print them out, cut them out.

Step 3: Arrange the images on your top piece of black cardstock, then glue them down in the order you want them with spray glue. Let dry for a couple of minutes.

Step 4: Using a cutting mat and X-acto knife, carefully cut along the sides and the bottom of each icon to create lift up flaps.

When you’re done, they look like this:

Step 5: It’s time to glue the top piece to the bottom piece. Spray glue very carefully on the back of the top piece, being careful to avoid the areas where the lift up flaps are (you don’t want to get glue in the area where you will be writing your messages).

Step 6: Once you glue the top and bottom pieces together, draw the little button at the bottom (I used a silver Sharpie), and trim the edges to make the whole presentation neat. Then you can write whatever messages you like under the flaps. I used the bottom three icons to write, “Happy Father’s Day,” “We love you,” and “Love, Molly, Elena and Rosa,” then I let the girls fill out all the rest.

If you happen to live near a Paper Source (or have a similarly great paper supply store), their 9″ x 11.5″ presentation envelopes make an excellent iDad “sleeve” for presenting your clever creation.

I printed “iDad” onto a piece of paper, cut it out with an X-acto knife and glued it to the front of the presentation envelope.

I love how this turned out, and I think Rolando (who’s been instructed not to read the blog today) will think it’s funny.

UPDATE (6/12): I revisited this iDad card for Father’s Day 2012 for the SheKnows website, where you can see more photos and a more detailed step by step.

Bookmark and Share

98 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    gray.com said,

    How clever and how fun! You could do the same thing with pictures of the kids, and have each of them write something (hopefully there are a bunch of kids.) Or photos of gifts, and say “choose one.”

    Not only a great post, but seems like it could lead to other ideas! Thanks.

    • 2

      Molly said,

      I love both of those ideas – pictures of presents hiding under the flaps or photos of kids! And of course, this card idea can be adapted for birthdays or other occasions – it’s not just for Father’s Day.

  2. 3

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brandi, tara gentile and Molly de Aguiar, michelle n.. michelle n. said: Cool card for dad – the iDad http://ow.ly/1YjwO […]

  3. 4

    lesley said,

    nice job, molly! i love it, what a creative card!

  4. 5

    dongdong said,

    Oh, I love this! We’re going to have to make this. Thank you!

  5. 6

    Haus Frau said,

    Thanks~ I have to make this with the kids for my husband/their daddy. He would absolutely love it!

  6. 7

    Rachel said,

    you are so clever !!!

  7. 8

    trish said,

    maybe you can have a calender image with the Sunday the 5th on it that would be cool

  8. 9

    Love this! Our Daddy is chief Apple fan. We’ve already made this – simplified with supplies on hand (black construction paper). Turned out SO CUTE! Thanks a bunch!

  9. 10

    This is so fantastic!!!! I wonder how many dads are getting real ipads for dads day? This card is even sweeter than the real thing! I think I might make one for my kiddos since they always want to play on mine. Thanks sooo much for the awesome idea!

  10. 11

    […] iDad Card Fathers Day is passed, yes, but this genius can be tucked away for a special occasion … or just because you love the Dad’s in your life. […]

  11. 12

    Claire said,

    Thanks for a fabulous idea – I was really struggling to find a Father’s Day card from myself to my hubby…and this was just the kind of idea I was looking for! I made it tonight, but adapted it a little with an extra layer raised with mounting foam tape to give a more 3D effect – and I’ve done it for an iPhone.
    Thanks, I can’t wait to give it to my hubby! Like someone else said very versatile – can be used for birthday card, or a congratulations on graduating card….well done!

  12. 14

    Hi Molly,

    Excellent idea for a Fathers Day card.

    I have been writing a blog on the adventures of iDad since August and I was wondering if I could re-post your iDad Fathers Day card for my readers please.

    Of course I will make sure that you are fully credited for the concept.

    Have a look at my blog and let me know if this will be ok.

    Many thanks.

    Matthew

  13. 16

    […] Mañana es el día del padre. Los niños han traído sus regalitos para papa del cole y en casa le hemos hecho una pequeña tarjeta para acompañarlos. La idea la encontramos en la red gracias a una compañera y nos pareció muy original. En castellano lo hemos llamado Ipap, aunque en el tuturial lo llaman Idad. Es muy fácil de hacer, solo tenéis que seguir las indicaciones y poner un mensaje debajo de cada pestaña. Otras compañeras que se han decidido a hacerlo lo han completado más, en la pestaña de fotos han puesto la de sus hijos, en música la letra de una canción y en la de safari una dirección concreta. Vía: Charlotte’s Fancy http://charlottesfancy.com/2010/06/14/idad […]

  14. 17

    Tina said,

    What an AWESOME idea! I love it. I just had to share it with my Tweeps!

  15. 19

    Becky said,

    I am making this for my husband & also one for my dad. It will be funny cause I’m sure my 3 year old son will want to play with daddy’s new phone. LOL

  16. 22

    kiki said,

    Thanx for sharing that great idea!!!!!!!
    Our dad will love it!
    Kiki

  17. 25

    […] iDad card ~ With iPads, iPhones, and iPods all the rage, Charlotte’s Fancy takes you through the steps to make Dad his very own personalized iDad card! […]

  18. 26

    Benjawan said,

    Love it! my next project!! Thanks for the great ideas and the instructions!!

  19. 28

    Staci said,

    I HAVE TO do this for my husband this year! He is obsessed with apple & this is perfect! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

  20. 30

    Awesome! I got online to find exactly this! I wanted to find ideas so I can make my husband an ipad looking card and here you have a tutorial and everything! thanks so much for sharing!

  21. 32

    […] fan? Rarely without his iPhone or iPad? Take a little inspiration from his obsession and make him an iDad card, complete with messages under the app […]

  22. 33

    Laura said,

    What i did is i put a picture of our whole family on top of the cardstock and then put all of the “buttons” on it like a wallpaper

  23. 35

    laura said,

    ohmygosh – PERFECTION for my hubby. and my 6 year old who is almost as obsessed with the iPad as his father, is going to LOVE helping me make this today! I found it on Pinterest. . .you are a genius! THANK YOU!!!!

  24. 37

    This card is probably one of the coolest, most imaginative cards that I have ever seen. Two thumbs up!!!!

  25. 39

    This is so incredibly creative. My brother, who is an amazing daddy, would so love this. He is an iphone/ipad addict. I can not wait to make this and give it to him. Thank you so much for sharing.

  26. 40

    Lisa said,

    This is a wonderful and very creative idea! I found your blog after seeing this over on Pinterest!

  27. 41

    […] I love this site it is just the best and so vast! I mean come on… these are pretty fab…this one…and this one… and this cutie for the little […]

  28. 42

    Mandy said,

    I am working on this tonight! Thanks so very much for sharing your idea and letting us all copy it. I am having fun finding all the icons for the games my husband has recently become addicted to. It will be a fun surprise! Thanks!!!

  29. 43

    Mandy said,

    Great idea!! I was stuck for something to share with my students. They’ll love this.
    Cheers 🙂

  30. 44

    Scilla said,

    i just made something like this for my dad’s bithday!

  31. 45

    […] looking for “manly” cards to make. The pickings were a little slim. I finally found this great post about making an iDad Father’s Day card, so I adapted it to my purposes. He loved […]

  32. 46

    Great blog and thanks so much for this great idea! I used it to make a birthday card for my boyfriend. I was having quite a time finding cool card designs for men. You can check out my interpretation at http://everydaypaper.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/days-54-57/

  33. 47

    […] ¿O una tarjeta de felicitación que podría confundirse con una Tablet? […]

  34. 49

    […] For The Digital Dad If your dad is a guy on the go – always with a smartphone in tow – then making this “iDad” card from Charlotte’s Fancy is an absolute must. Fun, funny and brilliant – everyone will love making and reading this totally awesome card. Read More… […]

  35. 50

    Love it, what about a book about Dad to go with his iDad? http://www.love2read.co.uk/see-demo-book.html?bid=10

  36. 52

    […] is a fun idea, an "iDad" card by Charlotte's Fancy. (Found via […]

  37. 53

    Sarah walls said,

    This was a fab idea. And has given me inspiration. Its well recommended to try making these.

  38. 55

    AlexB said,

    I just had my middle schooler make a sample for my 3rd grade class (and her dad) to make for their dads for Father’s Day! This is such a great idea! Thank you for sharing your ideas.
    I used foam board 12×18 cut it in half, black paper and index cards. The students will choose dad’s favorite apps and write messages, poems, and reminders for dad.
    on the back I made iDad labels and will have the students color it in to their likeness. Then they will also “engrave” it. I can’t wait.

  39. 58

    Swetha said,

    hey Molly! this came out so excellent! my daughter is just 18 months but she loves my iPad! when she saw me making this for her dad she was so excited and she saved it in her room as she does to the real one! and i have made the entire thing with waste except for the print outs of the apps.
    i used the back of a black bound book and that was my base…
    excellent idea and thank u so much for sharing!

    • 59

      Molly said,

      Thank you so much for your comment – it makes me so happy to hear when others have been inspired by one of my crafts. If you want to send me a picture, I would love to see it!

  40. 60

    […] A fantastic tutorial and a really creative idea for a card for dad that you can make yourself, with the kids. Look inside each of the “apps” to find a cute personalized message.  From Charlottes Fancy.com  […]

  41. 61

    Love this idea! I definitely need to bookmark this!

  42. 62

    Curtis said,

    This is so fantastic and cute. I wanted to let you know I featured your post in my latest blog article ” Father’s Day Gifts for the Techie Dad” on the RepairLabs.com blog. I hope lots of people make this clever craft. Ps- you could put alllll sorts of fun/naughty/silly messages inside those “apps.” You can check out my article here if you want, feel free to share or delete if links aren’t allowed http://www.repairlabs.com/blog/fathers-day-gifts-for-the-techie-dad

    • 63

      Molly said,

      Thanks so much, Curtis! Really appreciate your kind words and enthusiasm for the iDad – and thanks for including it on the Repair Labs website.

  43. 64

    Erica said,

    This is fantastic! My husband owns his own IT business and we are both big MAC users, and I always struggle with unique gift/card ideas. Thanks for sharing!

  44. 66

    […] by doodlelove. Adorable for the big day. Idea from GingerSnap Crafts Adorable card idea, from Charlotte’s Fancy.  Perfect for my dad, the Apple […]

  45. 67

    […] year, I wanted to do something a little more personal and less material. On the boards, I found this adorable card called the iDad. The photo on Pinterest looks like […]

  46. 68

    […] Cartão idad Biscoito gravata Cupcake moustache Cartão I love you this much Kit para lavar carro Share this:EmailMaisGostar disso:GosteiSeja o primeiro a gostar disso. […]

  47. 69

    […] Make a cool iDad card with this […]

  48. 70

    Devon said,

    I love this idea. I’m 11 and it’s so easy to make. My dad will love it. Thank you Molly

  49. 72

    […]  DIY – How to make your own iDAD card! Source: charlottesfancy.com via erin @ a bird and a bean on […]

  50. 73

    payton said,

    Where do you get the icon apps at???

  51. 77

    Aliya Rajpal said,

    is it important to use only spray glue? normal glue can do?
    X-acto knife and Cutting mat, what can I use instead of that? please tell. 🙂

  52. 80

    Brooke landrito said,

    This is gorgeous and so cute and simple my dad will love it thanks for the idea

  53. 81

    Sara said,

    As a child i will do this for my Father and could we use an art paper instead of the cardstock? And we do not have a cutting mat

  54. 84

    […] Papa, i lest toujours collé à son iTruc… Malgré tout, peut-être que la fête des pères est le jour ou jamais pour lui faire vraiment plaisir… non ? Que dîtes vous de l'iDad ? une jolie carte à fabriquer pour la fête des pères, imaginée par charlottesfancy […]

  55. 85

    […] Follow this Link to the Tutorial […]

  56. 87

    kaylee said,

    Hey Molly instead of spray glue what could you use?

  57. 89

    heart995 said,

    nice job there

  58. 90

    […] iPhone con mensajes en las apps (iDad). Instrucciones en inglés. […]

  59. 91

    Hello from Britan! The gift ideas in this list are super
    funny, and it’s evident a lot of thought was
    used to find the ideas. It its so easy now to buy a gift.
    My cousin is difficult to buy for cause his likes is
    a bit specific, but there are a couple of items
    here that that he will ACTUALLY like. So well done.
    This gift breakdown was very helpful as my cousin owns EVERYTHING!.
    Also it would be nice if a up to date version of this list made!
    . Thank you!

  60. 92

    […] iDad Card by Charlotte’s Fancy […]

  61. 93

    […] For the tech-savvy dad ~ (Photo Credit Charlotte’s Fancy) […]

  62. 94

    […] image sources: 1. alphamom 2. homemade-gifts-made-easy 3. kidspot 4. mama-knows 5. charlottesfancy […]

  63. 95

    […] – iDad Card from Charlotte’s Fancy Learn how to make a card that looks like an […]

  64. 96

    […] Card: iDad card on She Knows, by Molly de Aguiar, originally posted on her site, Charlotte’s Fancy. […]

  65. 97

    […] I came across the iDad Father’s Day Card at Charlotte’s Fancy, I knew I needed to get (ok – create) my husband one for Fathers Day.  Let me tell you […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Like this post? Tell me about it!